Growing a Tree

"Someone's sitting in the shade today because someone planted a tree a long time ago."

Shade

I sit in the shade. I live in the shade.

I sit in the shade because parents like me questioned the accepted practice that all babies with a disability should go to an institution.

I sit in the shade because parents demanded the right to an education for their children.

I sit in the shade because self-advocates demanded accessible buildings, jobs in the community, and their own homes.

I sit in the shade because legislators listened.

 

And now I’m left wondering which seeds I can plant, which saplings I can nurture, which trees need trimming…how can I advocate? How can I help my daughter advocate? And is there anything I learn along the way that might help others?

So what I’m hoping to do with this blog is plant seeds. Share the words of wisdom from the others I meet along the way, and hope to get comments here with your ideas and opinions.

And we’ll see what grows!

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “Shade

  1. first comment – can you add the subscribe feature? Thank you! More later, when I have better internet access

Leave a Reply

